This is the "Articles" page of the "Automotive Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Automotive Technology  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2015 URL: http://libguides.westgatech.edu/content.php?pid=276185 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GALILEO PASSWORD

To use GALILEO off campus you have a password.  The password changes every semester. You can get the password from library staff or from your instructor.   Fall semester 2011 the password is passport.

 

GALILEO Search

Off campus?

Enter GALILEO password:

 

 
and search General Academic Databases

Internet resources

Auto value information

Car Talk

Online Resources for Articles

The Auto Repair Reference Center database includes information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information starting as far back as 1945 for certain makes. The database covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ, Quick Tips (a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance), Diagnostic information and much more. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are continually added to the product. All of the content in Auto Repair Reference Center has been created by ASE certified technicians.

  • ARRC Training Video
    This 5-minute tutorial will help you get in and out of ARRC and on your way! Zoom zoom!

 

 

Distinguishing among periodical types

JOURNALS

An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical where research relating to a particular academic discipline is published. Journals offer a place for the presentation of new research and critique of existing research. Authors present original research, review articles, and reviews books. Sources of information are always cited. Language in academic journals is specialized to the discipline, and a complex scholarly writing style is used. Journals have a serious appearance and do not display glossy pages with pictures. Publishers of academic journals are often universities, research organizations and are published monthly, quarterly, or annually and are purchased by subscription.

MAGAZINES

Popular magazines are bright and glossy. Attractive covers are designed to attract attention from buyers. Published by commercial publishers and for commercial gain, the articles are short, non-technical and report on current events, people, and other popular topics. Magazines appear on news stands daily, weekly, or monthly.

SUBSTANTIVE NEWS/GENERAL INTEREST

These periodicals provide news and information on a particular subject or industry. These periodicals are published by commerical agents or professiona organizations. They will sometimes cite sources and the articles which appear in them are often wriltten by editorial staff or free-lance writes. The purpose of this type of periodicals is to educate and inform. There is no specialty assumed, only interest and a certain level of intelligence.

TRADE/INDUSTRY JOURNALS

This type of periodical publishes current trends and news in a particular field. They give statistics, trends, forecasts, company information, and are published for people in the trade or industry. The language used will be the lexicon of the trade and are published daily or weekly.

NEWSPAPERS

Porvide news stories on current events, and also provide local and regional news. Newspapers are written for general audiences and use simple language. Some articles will carry a by-line (author's name).  Newspapers appear daily or weekly.

SENSATIONAL

 Sensational periodicals come in a variety of styles, but often use a newspaper format. Their language is elementary and occasionally inflammatory. They assume a certain gullibility in their audience. The main purpose of sensational magazines seems to be to arouse curiosity and to cater to popular superstitions. They often do so with flashy headlines designed to astonish. (from Cornell Universilty)

 

 

Automotive News - First Shift

Honda Boosts Ala. Plant (11/15/11)

Video

Tue, 15 Nov 2011

safety regulators are investigating problems with automatic shift lovers and several GM cars. Drivers making the cars are in ..... displayed on the navigation screen. He's on says the road is the first tree vehicle in the US to offer the optional feature. And that

first found at 3:57

 

 

Trade Magazines

These are selected titles from the wide range of trade periodicals subcribed to by WGTC Libraries.

Automotive Engineering

Automotive News

Car and Driver

Four Wheeler

Motor Age

Motor Trend

Popular Mechanics

Road and Track

Rod and Custom

 

 


 

 

Create an Alert (Email or RSS)

Both ProQuest and Ebsco offer the option to have the latest articles in any magazine they carry, sent directly to you via e-mail or an RSS feed.

Automotive News is available in full text in both the ProQuest databases and in EBSCO Business Source Complete.

Look for the Publication link, search for Automotive News, then look for the Set Up Alert or Create RSS feed link!

 

To use EBSCO, you will need to create an account. Follow the directions.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip