This is the "Obsessive Compulsive Disorder" page of the "Mr. Miller's Writing Assignments" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mr. Miller's Writing Assignments  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2015 URL: http://libguides.westgatech.edu/content.php?pid=626104 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

BOOKS

Library Resources

Books from the WGTC Catalog

 

 

Cover Art
The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity - Sarah Hendrickx
Call Number: RC553 .A88 H4685
ISBN: 1843109808
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
Increasing numbers of adults are realising that they have been living with an undiagnosed developmental condition, yet most information and support focuses on children. This leaves many adults confused and in the dark. The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook is a handy first-reference point guide to the full range of developmental conditions as they affect adolescents and adults. Each chapter focuses on a different condition, describing its history, causes and characteristics, its implications for the individual, diagnosis and assessment, treatments and approaches, and strategies for providing support and self-support. A wide range of conditions are covered, including Autistic Spectrum Disorders, Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, ADHD, OCD, Tourette's and Anxiety Disorders. The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook is an invaluable resource for health and social care practitioners, as well as for individuals who feel that they may be living with an undiagnosed developmental condition.

1 copy available at LaGrange campus library.

Cover Art
Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Third Edition - David H. Barlow (Editor)
Call Number: RC489 .B4 C584 2001
ISBN: 1572306114
Publication Date: 2001-07-19
Each chapter summarizes the clinical presentation, etiology, and diagnosis of the each of the most commonly enountered disorders; reviews the models or theories that guide intervention; and delineates step-by-step protocols for assessment and treatment, illustrated with transcripts and vignettes. Now in a revised and expanded third edition, this classic text provides detailed, practical guidelines for treating the most commonly encountered adult disorders. The latest advances in evidence-based practice are reflected in chapters from an expert array of scientist/n-/practitioners. The third edition features new chapters on bipolar disorder, cocaine dependence, and interpersonal psychotherapy for depression, as well as broader coverage of alcohol use disorders and sexual dysfunction. Each chapter summarizes current knowledge about the clinical presentation, etiology, and diagnosis of the disorder at hand; reviews the models or theories that guide intervention; and describes typical treatment settings. Authors then delineate step-by-step protocols for assessment and treatment, illustrated with therapeutic transcripts and vignettes. Also provided are available data on clinical predictors of treatment outcomes. An essential text for students and trainees in psychology, psychiatry, and other mental health fields, this is also an invaluable resource for clinicians.

1 copy available at Douglas Campus Library.
1 copy available at Murphy Campus Library.

Cover Art
Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder - J. S. Abramowitz
Call Number: RC533 .A272
ISBN: 0889373167
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
This text provides an overview of the diagnosis and assessment of OCD, and delineates a research-based conceptual framework for understanding the development, maintenance, and treatment of obsessions and compulsions. It is suitable for those providing services for individuals with anxiety disorders.

1 copy available at LaGrange campus library.

Cover Art
The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity - Sarah Hendrickx
Call Number: RC553 .A88 H4685
ISBN: 1843109808
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
Increasing numbers of adults are realising that they have been living with an undiagnosed developmental condition, yet most information and support focuses on children. This leaves many adults confused and in the dark. The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook is a handy first-reference point guide to the full range of developmental conditions as they affect adolescents and adults. Each chapter focuses on a different condition, describing its history, causes and characteristics, its implications for the individual, diagnosis and assessment, treatments and approaches, and strategies for providing support and self-support. A wide range of conditions are covered, including Autistic Spectrum Disorders, Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, ADHD, OCD, Tourette's and Anxiety Disorders. The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook is an invaluable resource for health and social care practitioners, as well as for individuals who feel that they may be living with an undiagnosed developmental condition.

1 copy available at LaGrange campus library.

Cover Art
Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Third Edition - David H. Barlow (Editor)
Call Number: RC489 .B4 C584 2001
ISBN: 1572306114
Publication Date: 2001-07-19
Each chapter summarizes the clinical presentation, etiology, and diagnosis of the each of the most commonly enountered disorders; reviews the models or theories that guide intervention; and delineates step-by-step protocols for assessment and treatment, illustrated with transcripts and vignettes. Now in a revised and expanded third edition, this classic text provides detailed, practical guidelines for treating the most commonly encountered adult disorders. The latest advances in evidence-based practice are reflected in chapters from an expert array of scientist/n-/practitioners. The third edition features new chapters on bipolar disorder, cocaine dependence, and interpersonal psychotherapy for depression, as well as broader coverage of alcohol use disorders and sexual dysfunction. Each chapter summarizes current knowledge about the clinical presentation, etiology, and diagnosis of the disorder at hand; reviews the models or theories that guide intervention; and describes typical treatment settings. Authors then delineate step-by-step protocols for assessment and treatment, illustrated with therapeutic transcripts and vignettes. Also provided are available data on clinical predictors of treatment outcomes. An essential text for students and trainees in psychology, psychiatry, and other mental health fields, this is also an invaluable resource for clinicians.

1 copy available at Douglas Campus Library.
1 copy available at Murphy Campus Library.

Cover Art
Drug Therapy and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorders - Shirley Brinkerhoff
Call Number: RC533 .B745
ISBN: 1590845692
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Examines the obsessive-compulsive disorder, its symptoms and manifestations, how it can be controlled and treated, and what it is like to live with obsessive-compulsive disorder.

1 copy available at LaGrange campus library.

Cover Art
Understanding Personality Disorders - Duane L. Dobbert
Call Number: RC554 .D63 2007
ISBN: 9780275989606
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The author concisely explains major personality disorders and illustrates each with examples from daily life.

2 copies available at Carroll and LaGrange campus library.

 

eBooks on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary)

 eBooks on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary) provides access to your library’s eContent collection. eContent is the digital version of books, journals, and database content. You can access eBooks through GALILEO from the Library’s page. Off campus you will need a password. Obtain the password from library or instructor. Click on Databases A-Z tab and click “E” for eBooks (#2). Type your topic in the  text box and press search.

 

Here are a few titles from eBooks:

 

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder: Theory, research, and Treatment

Menzies, Ross G; De Silva, Padmal

 

From Thoughts to Obsessions: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder in Children and Adolescents

Thomsen, Per Hove

 

Obsession: a History

Davis, Lennard J.

 

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder: Practical, Tried-and-tested Strategies to Overcome OCD

Toates, F. M.; Coschug-Toates, Olga

 

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder: A Practical Guide

Fienberg, Naomi; Marazziti, Donatella.; Stein, Dan J.

 

 

 

GALILEO RESOURCES

GALILEO:

On campus link from Library’s page. Off campus you will need a password. Obtain the password from library or instructor. Click on Databases A-Z tab and search the following databases.

 

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

 

MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost)

 

CINAHL

 

CREDO Reference

 

Research Library

 

Academic Search complete

 

Using Academic Search Complete

  

Obsessive-Compulsive Spectrum Disorders in Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder and Other Anxiety Disorders.

Lochner, Christine1 Stein, Dan J.1,2

 

Obsessionality & compulsivity: a phenomenology of obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Denys, Damien1,2 d.denys@amc.nl

 

Obsessive Beliefs and Dimensions of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: An Examination of Specific Associations.

Viar, Megan1 megan.a.viar@vanderbilt.eduBilsky, Sarah1Armstrong, Thomas1Olatunji, Bunmi1

 

 

GALE INFOTRAC

Link to this opposing view database can be found at the bottom of the library's web page.

Password:

carr_log

An excellent database that discusses both sides of many topics.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip