This is the "HPV Vaccine Controversy" page of the "Mr. Miller's Writing Assignments" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mr. Miller's Writing Assignments  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2015 URL: http://libguides.westgatech.edu/content.php?pid=626104 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

HPV Vaccine Controversy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

BOOKS

WGTC libraries do not have any books devoted to the subject of HPV vaccine, but we do have several titles on sexually transmitted disease that may add to your research.

 

Cover Art
The Healthy Woman - Office of Women's Health (U.S.) Staff (Compiled by); Public Health Service (U.S.) Staff (Compiled by); Jill Dougherty (Foreword by)
Call Number: RC48.6 .H42 2008
ISBN: 9780160771835
Publication Date: 2008-10-15
The Cambodia Travel Map from Periplus is designed as a convenient, easy-to-use tool for travelers. Created using durable coated paper, this map is made to open and fold multiple times, whether it's the entire map that you want to view or one panel at a time. Following highways and byways, this map will show you how to maneuver your way to banks, gardens, hotels, golf courses, museums, monuments, restaurants, churches and temples, movie theaters, shopping centers and more! This 4th edition includes maps and plans that are scaled to: Area Maps: Cambodia 1:1,000,000 Angkor Temples Area 1:150,000 City Plans: Phnom Penh 1:17,500 Siem Reap Town 1:10,000 Sihanoukville 1:30,000 Periplus Travel Maps cover most of the major cities and travel destinations in the Asia-Pacific region. The series includes an amazing variety of fascinating destinations, from the multifaceted subcontinent of India to the bustling city-state of Singapore and the 'western style' metropolis of Sydney to the Asian charms of Bali. All titles are continuously updated, ensuring they keep up with the considerable changes in this fast-developing part of the world. This extensive geographical reach and attention to detail mean that Periplus Travel Maps are the natural first choice for anyone traveling in the region.

1 copy available at Carroll.

Cover Art
Testing Positive - Patricia A. Donovan
Call Number: RA644 .V4 D66 1993
ISBN: 0939253283
Publication Date: 1993-04-01
1 copy available at Douglas.

Cover Art
Sexual Health Promotion - Catherine Ingram Fogel; Diane Lauver
Call Number: RA788 .S4784
ISBN: 072163799X
Publication Date: 1989-09-01
An expert synthesis of research and practical application, this book provides comprehensive coverage of sexual health. Taking a non-judgmental approach, the authors delve into vital sexual topics, discussing mental health, developmental disabilities, gynecologic conditions, sexually transmitted diseases including AIDS, cultural attitudes towards sexuality, religion and law, and much more. Chapters on specific diseases and their effects on sexual function are rich with specific suggestions for health care providers.

1 copy available at LaGrange campus library.

Cover Art
The Real Truth about Women and AIDS - Helen S. Kaplan
Call Number: RC607 .K37 1987
ISBN: 0671657437
Publication Date: 1987-09-01
1 copy available at Carroll.

Cover Art
AIDS-Proofing Your Kids - Loren E. Acker; Bram C. Goldwater; William H. Dyson; Michelle Roehm (Editor); Bram Goldwater; William Dyson
Call Number: HQ57 .A28 1992
ISBN: 0941831728
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
AIDS-Proofing Your Kids is the first book to explain the most practical and direct strategies for parents and educators to teach children the skills and responsibilities needed to approach sex. Education experts are now saying that talking isn't enough: you can tell kids what to do until you're blue in the face, but that doesn't guarantee that they'll actually do it. This book gives parents and educators the crucial information on AIDS and shows them how to overcome embarrassment in talking with kids about sex talk about AIDS and its prevention make abstinence more likely or train kids to use condoms get kids to rehearse and practice AIDS-proofing skills help the schools with AIDS education Talking about safer sex and AIDS with our kids is only the first step. It's time for all of us to do more to protect them. AIDS-Proofing Your Kids will save lives!

2 copies available at Carroll and LaGrange campus library.

 

GALILEO

 

GALILEO:  On campus link from Library’s page, off campus you will need a password.  Obtain password  from library or instructor. Click on Databases A-Z and search the following databases:

 

ERIC

Academic Search Complete 

Research Library

MedLine at EBSCO Host

CREDO   

Search terms I used:   HPV, HPV vaccine, sexually transmitted disease, HPV Vaccine controversy, HPV Vaccine and Texas.

 

 

World Wide Web

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

                 www.cdc.gov

 

National Conference of State Legislatures

            www.ncsl.org/issues-research/health

 

WebMD

                 www.webmd.com

 

Texas Department of State Health Services

               www.dshs.state.tx.us

 

Catholic Insight Culture Vision

http://catholicinsight.com/online/controversy/article_762.shtml

 

Medscape

http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/763324_2

 

Healthier talk.com

www.healthiertalk.com

 

Institute of Science in Society

www.i~sis.org

 

HealthMap

www.healthmap.org

 

GALE INFOTRAC

Link to this opposing view database can be found at the bottom of the library's web page.

Password:

carr_log

An excellent database that discusses both sides of many topics.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip