This is the "Find Books" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology   Tags: psychology  

This guide will direct you to research resources for a variety of psychology related topics.
Last Updated: Dec 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.westgatech.edu/psych Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Psychology LC Classification

Psychology related books can be found in a variety of Library of Congress Classification call numbers

BD, BF, RC  -  Cognitive Psychology

RC, BF -  Clinical Psychology

HM, BF -  Developmental Psychology

 

eBooks

eBooks on EBSCOhost
Limit Your Results
 

Where to Start

If you don't know where to start with your research, use encyclopedias and dictionaries to find general information about your psychology topic.

Encyclopedias and dictionaries are usually located in the reference section of the library. 

Cover Art
Popular Psychology - Luis A. Cordón
Call Number: REF BF31 .C715 2005
ISBN: 0313324573
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
A lot of what is marketed to the public as psychology is actually quite unscientific. Attempting to counteract the tide of misinformation about what psychology really is, "Popular Pscyhology: An Encyclopedia" is a concise guide for anyone seeking to understand the true scientific nature of psychology.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Health Psychology - Alan J. Christensen (Editor); René Martin (Editor); Joshua Morrison Smyth (Editor)
Call Number: REF R726.7 .E53 2004
ISBN: 030648336X
Publication Date: 2004-07-21
- Not only is Health Psychology, a field that focuses on the promotion and maintenance of both physical and mental health,nbsp;a rapidly growing area of interest, but it is also a field that draws on and contributes to the other varied fields of psychology, medicine, nursing, sociology, anthropology, among others. - Provides a relatively comprehensive and accesible overview of the central concepts, issues, conditions and terms that comprise the broad discipline of health psychology - Covers more than 200 contributions by more than 150 of the leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in the field

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: BF31 .G35 2001
ISBN: 0787647861
Publication Date: 2000-10-10
'The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology' covers the entire spectrum of psychological terms, theories, personalities and experiments. The book is designed to be of use to both students and the general public.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Biological Psychology - Philip Winn (Editor)
Call Number: QP 360 .D52 2013
ISBN: 9780415867368
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Biological Psychology is the study of psychological processes in terms of biological functions. A major obstacle to understanding dialogue in the field has always been its terminology which is drawn from a variety of non-psychological sources such as clinical medicine, psychiatry and neuroscience, as well as specialist areas of psychology such as ethology, learning theory and psychophysics. For the first time, a distinguished international team of contributors has now drawn these terms together and defined them both in terms of their physical properties and their behavioural significance. The Dictionary of Biological Psychology will prove an invaluable source of reference for undergraduates in psychology wrestling with the fundamentals of brain physiology, anatomy and chemistry, as well as researchers and practitioners in the neurosciences, psychiatry and the professions allied to medicine. It is an essential resource both for teaching and for independent study, reliable for fact-checking and a solid starting point for wider exploration.

Cover Art
APA Dictionary of Psychology - Gary R. Vandenbos (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF31 .A65 2007
ISBN: 9781591473800
Publication Date: 2006-07-15
The American Psychological Association is proud to announce the publication of an invaluable addition to your reference shelf, one that represents a major scholarly and editorial undertaking. With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Ten years in the making and edited by a distinguished editorial board of nearly 100 psychological scholars, researchers and practitioners, the APA Dictionary of Psychology is destined to become the most authoritative reference of its kind. authoritative definitions; thousands of incisive cross-references directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, and related terms and concepts that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality and social, developmental, health, psychopharmacology, methodology and statistics, and many others. Entries include nearly 8,000 terms from the APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms registered] which helps students and researchers refine their APA database searches (such as the flagship PsycINFO registered] bibliographic database's 2+ million records). It also includes A Guide to Use and Quick Guide to Format that together explain important stylistic and format features to help readers most effectively use the Dictionary. covering biographies; institutions, associations and organizations; psychological therapies and interventions; and psychological tests and assessment instruments. It contains thumb tabs for locating definitions quickly and easily. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.

Cover Art
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology - Graham Davey
Call Number: REF BF31 .E495 2005
ISBN: 0340812524
Publication Date: 2005-08-18
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology is a core reference for any student of psychology. It is authoritative and accessible, and covers the basic curriculum content of a degree course along with more specialized material in areas of widespread interest. The Encyclopaedic Dictionarypresents more than 1500 different entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts. For key issues, the explanation is supported withillustrations, tables and photographs, and relevant contemporary references are provided throughout to allow the reader to pursue more widely their particular interests. The book is comprehensively cross-referenced for ease of use.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip